So it’s been a little while since I posted last. I am going to use the holidays excuse. So here’s what’s been up lately…

  • Birthday party for the elder urchin last night; she’s now 2! The party was mostly geared toward the adults of course though there were some gifts amid giftwrap destruction and strawberry cupcakes. The kids were so wiped out afterward that they managed to sleep through most of a boisterous game of Apples to Apples.
  • I’ve been building a model of our new house out of foam blocks and toothpicks. Our pastor’s 6-year-old daughter was fascinated with it.
  • I’ve been having a good time corresponding with some folks I encountered on the straw bale listserv. It took some work for me to find it so here’s a link for anyone interested in signing up. Most of the conversations have been centered around evaporative cooling versus earth tubes, which I mentioned in an earlier post. As I’ve done more research on the subject of earth tubes, I find conflicting evidence (and no data) on their effectiveness and relative expense. So I’m not 100% sold on the idea. I’m not sold on evap either, even if it would work well in our new house, because it could use up to 6,000 gallons of water per season. That’s more than half of what we could hope to harvest off our roof for irrigation and flushing the loo.
  • I’ve been toying with the idea of planting a vineyard after we build the house. Our lot seems to be well suited and there is a shortage of bona-fide Arizona wine grapes. But even so, on such a small scale as we could do, it might not be economically feasible.
  • On a similar subject, I’ve been thinking about homesteading and that sort of lifestyle. Might post something on that later.
  • I’ve been thinking about some compelling things in a couple books. Basically the supremacy of Christ in all things. Might post something on that later, too.
