Had lunch with Pastor E today. We talked about saving the world. About how we probably can’t, and that isn’t much the point anyway.

For sure the survival of the human race depends on it finding a way to live sustainably and in partnership with God’s creation. Alas, human behavior seems more like addict behavior in many ways. Especially in America. Most addicts are pretty destructive, both to themselves and to the people around them. Our love affair with gasoline engines and flush toilets and the ability to go anywhere and do anything we want, our love affair with no limits and all the freedom to be as stupid as we want to be… well, eventually it’s going to rattle itself apart like a badly-conceived Rube Goldberg contraption. Trouble is, we can’t see far enough down the road and those of us who try write novels like 1984 and Brave New World… and reality gives us the 90s instead. But if there aren’t big changes, we will run out of water, we will change the climate, we will have to deal with the consequences of our choices. And so will our children, perhaps even more so than us.

But I’m not trying to be green to save the planet. I’m trying to be green because I follow Jesus, I love my kids, and I want to do the right thing. One of the hard parts about trying to do the right thing is that sometimes it doesn’t seem to have much of a positive impact on the world. I doubt anyone will see our house with a sawdust toilet and want to run out and get their own. I wouldn’t expect them to, either. That’s okay. That’s not why I want to use one. I want to compost our humanure because it’s good, and I believe it honors the world God made.

