Wifey facing ladder anxiety

Wifey facing ladder anxiety

Friday I went out to finish the wood trim, and Saturday wifey dropped off LE with a friend to come help paint and, as she would discover, face her ladder anxiety.

“I’ve jumped out of an airplane and that wasn’t scary, and I really want to go bungee jumping, so why can’t I handle being on top of this ladder!?”

We had some fun priming and painting. We picked a very light cream for the walls, which made it hard to tell if we were using white primer or paint (at one point we poured primer in the paint pan by mistake). We also picked green for the trim, a shade we hoped would match the surrounding vegetation… I think we got it a trifle bright but oh well, we like it anyway.

A big weather system moved in Saturday afternoon around three, and wifey had to leave to pick up LE at four, so we didn’t get as much trim painting done as we had hoped. The storm blew in from the West so I painted the east side while it rained, and hoped the wind wouldn’t change directions on me. I lucked out.

Painting the trim

Painting the trim

So I got about a third of the trim painted before it was time to go. It’s coming along nicely. We plan to come back out at the end of the month to finish it up and hopefully even get the metal roof on. We’re going to see if we can persuade some friends to come and help, and figure out a way to have LE with us while we work. Having a sixteen-month-old on a job site is a bit of a scary thought but we think we can make it work. This homebuilding thing is a whole lot more likely to succeed if we can keep it from taking away family time.

