Mortality Diagram from Florence NightingaleOne of my coworkers sent a link about Florence Nightingale’s lesser-known identity as a medical statistician. I sometimes have trouble explaining to people the nature of my actual employment but this article does a wonderful job for me. It rather dramatically illustrates the impact of medical statistics; my employer is all about building software to facilitate medical statistics so hospitals can be safer and more effective.

I work in the user documentation department. Part of my job is to make the software easier to understand and use. I don’t always enjoy what I do because, given a choice, I’d often rather build things with tools than sit at a computer and be in my head all day. But this article was encouraging because it helped me to see that what I work on has a positive impact on the world. I hope to always be doing things like that.

